A Family Tradition

July 20, 2014

I’ve been anxiously awaiting the return the Ottawa REDBLACKS! It’s been nearly a decade since a CFL game has been played at Lansdowne Park, now TD Place and in that time my son has grown into a fine young man.

I wanted to look for a tradition I could share with my son – something that we can learn, love and laugh together and season tickets seemed like a wonderful idea. Season tickets were something we never had. We have gone to other sporting events, but this would be the first time that we would be season ticket holders – complete with our very own seats!

I think I was more excited than my son, but as opening day grew closer, I could see his curiosity and excitement build. He wasn’t having anything to do with my plans to dress up as lumberjacks, but I did want opening day to be something very special.

I ordered some appropriately themed cupcakes from Vanilla Gourmet Cupcakes, picked up the required Ottawa REDBLACKS swag from our neighborhood Giant Tiger (Thank you to @mrsnickcharney for the idea) and patiently awaited for our departure to the TD Place.

As a thank you, we shared our first cupcake with the taxi driver that drove us to the game and preceded to share the rest of them with random strangers around the stadium. You can see some of those photos here.

To say the mood was electric would not only be an understatement, but also downright boring. It felt wonderful to be part of this exciting chapter of Ottawa and the REDBLACKS! To be able to share this with my son was magically magnificent.

We soaked up the atmosphere and you can genuinely tell that people were excited to have professional ball back in the nation’s capital. We wanted to experience it all and we did.

Beverages. Food. The comraderie. Hanging out on the West Lawn to try and catch a football was one of the highlights. Meeting Michael ‘Pinball’ Clemons – was an awesome experience. Sharing this with my son – unbelievable.

There were multiple winners that night! The Ottawa REDBLACKS, the fans and me.

Can’t wait for the next game! #GOREDBLACKSGO!

You can learn more about Vanilla Gourmet Cupcakes here:
Facebook: Vanilla Gourmet Cupcakes
Twitter: @VanillaGourmet
Web: Vanilla Gourmet Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

