The Picasso of Loneliness

April 28, 2010

Someone once asked me, ‘how can we be with anyone, if we don’t know know how to be with ourselves?’ It is an interesting question. Have you thought of it? I have been wrestling with this question and with being alone.

Is loneliness an art? One must be able to perfect the art of loneliness on his/her journey towards happiness. Am I able to perfect the art of loneliness? I don’t think I will be able to perfect being alone, but what I can do, is practice being alone.

At first glance, one may ask, ‘why would you want to be alone? The questions isn’t a simple one and the answer itself is not linear. The question has taken me on a journey of sorts, a journey of self-discovery and at times self-loathing, but through this journey, I found the value of ‘emptying my bowl’ and in being present.

I’d like to think that unlike the experience Eleanor Rigby – loneliness can have a beautiful side. Perhaps a little less Hugh Hefner in the art of happiness and a little more Picasso in the art of loneliness.
Foot Bridge

Leave a Reply

